Borjomi is famous for its mineral water industry (which is the number one export of Georgia). Archaeological excavations have revealed the existence of stone baths in the area, proving that these mineral waters have been utilized by people for thousands of years. Because of the supposed restorative and healing powers of the area’s mineral springs, it is a frequent destination for people with health problems. Borjomi is also home to the most extensive ecologically-themed amusement park in the Caucasus.
1. Blue Palace “Firuza”
“Firuza” is one of the most important historical buildings in Borjomi. Situated at the entrance of the “Mineral Water Park,” it was built in 1892 by the consul of Iran and is considered a unique cultural monument. The building combines characteristics of Persian, Georgian and European styles.
Address: Baratashvili Street N3
2. Mineral Water Park
The most remarkable virtues of Borjomi are its striking nature and unique mineral waters. One of the best places to experience this is the “Mineral Water Park” of Borjomi. The park itself dates back to the 1850s and is an attractive destination all throughout the year. Here you can taste the natural Borjomi mineral water and relax in a beautiful environment. Try riding the cable car up to the Ferris wheel at the top of the park!
Address: 9th of April Street
3. Borjomi Museum of Local Lore
One of the oldest museums in Georgia; it first opened its doors in 1926. The building itself was constructed in 1890, and is unique both in its architecture and building materials used. Today it houses over 36,000 items, including four permanent exhibits. The Museum offers a full range of information about the town, from the flora and fauna to documents confirming Borjomi mineral water’s medicinal properties. It also contains many of the 18th–19th century glass, bronze, porcelain and wood artifacts which belonged to the Russian Royal family.
Address: 5 Saint Nino Street
4. Gogia’s Castle
The castle is located to the north-west of Borjomi and was constructed around the 14th century. It belonged to the rulers of Borjomi, feudal lords- the Avalishvilis, and it still bears the name of Gogia Avalishvili.